USC celebrates Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

By Adela Talbot
April 11, 2013

Share this:View PDFPrinter Friendly

Teaching Awards


Jennifer Irwin, Faculty of Health Sciences, M. J. Kidnie, Faculty of Arts & Humanities, Anita Woods, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, and Mitsume Fukui, not pictured, Arts & Humanities, were named as recipients of the University Students’ Council (USC) Award of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching at the 22nd annual USC Award Ceremony. This ceremony celebrates the achievements of top students and faculty.

More than 200 Western instructors representing every faculty and affiliated college were nominated for the awards. Other winners included:

  • Future of Western Award: Angela Ye Seul Kim, Faculty of Science;
  • Student Award of Merit: Samik Doshi, Faculty of Science; Meghan Bhatia, Faculty of Science; Dhruv Vyas, Ivey Business School, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry; William Silverstein, Faculty of Science; and Ahsan Syed, Ivey Business School;
  • USC Alumni Award: Lindsey Banks, Faculty of Science, and Zoe Campbell, Faculty of Social Science;
  • Tracey Knight Memorial Award: Ali Damji, Faculty of Health Sciences;

“The accomplishments of our award winners remind us that students are engaged and that it is our responsibility as a student government and as a University to continue to make ourselves relevant to students where they need us most,” Adam Fearnall, USC president, said.

The USC Awards are funded by the USC, Scotiabank and Alumni Western.


8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
(holidays excluded)


Helen Connell

Jason Winders

Paul Mayne

Adela Talbot

Advertising Coordinator:
Denise Jones

Off-Campus Advertising Sales:
Chris Amyot, Campus Ad



Western News
Westminster Hall
Suite 360
The University of Western Ontario
N6A 3K7

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.