Understanding Guidelines

A PDF of this Page is Available

Download a copy in PDF format (PDF, 263KB)

What is WCAG?

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) is an international independent group that determines the protocols and standards for the web. A primary initiative of the W3C is to develop accessibility standards, which are known as WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines).

These guidelines have three levels of success: Level A, Level AA and Level AAA. Level A represents the minimum requirements for accessibility, with Level AAA being the highest level of requirements.

Understanding WCAG 2.0 principles and guidelines

There are 12 guidelines outlined in four main categories:

1. Perceivable - web content is made available to the senses (sight, hearing, and/or touch)

2. Operable - interface forms, controls, and navigation are operable 3. Understandable - content and interface are understandable

4. Robust - content can be used reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies