Mustangs announce 2010 Wall of Champions inductees


By Communications Staff
Wednesday, March 10, 2010
The Champions Club is pleased to announce the 2010 inductees into the Wall of Champions, the Western Mustangs football hall of fame.
Six new inductees and one team will join the Wall of Champions, a ‘who’s who’ of Canadian football and Canadian sport in general. This year's group includes builder and former player Jack Cowin, former players Paul Hauch, Jude St. John, Claude Riopelle and Jamie Tarris, builder and former equipment manager Clay Warner, and the 1971 Western Mustangs Vanier Cup team.  
The Wall of Champions Awards Dinner, scheduled for Apr. 16, was founded in 2004 to recognize individuals who have made significant contribution to Mustangs Football. To date, 47 Mustangs football alumni have been inducted, along with three teams.  
Here is a list of the 2010 inductees:  
JACK COWIN (1961-63)
* Team MVP 1963  
* 1963 Canadian Press all-star at defensive tackle
* Team Ontario heavyweight champion in wrestling in 1963
* Donated the Jack Cowin Bleachers at TD Waterhouse Stadium  
* Established Australian internship program for current Western player each year
* 1st round draft choice of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in 1964  
PAUL HAUCH (1926-31)  
* Team Captain of Western's first senior intercollegiate team in 1929, playing wingback  
* Member of the 1926 and 1927 Intermediate Ontario Intercollegiate Champions  
* Member of the 1931 Yates Cup team (Western's first Yates Cup win)  
* Won the prestigious Howard Ferguson Award in 1932
JUDE ST. JOHN (1991-94)  
* Team captain of Western's 1994 Vanier Cup championship team
* 1994 OUA all-star   * 2nd round draft pick of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats in 1995  
* Grey Cup champion with the Toronto Argonauts in 2004  
* CFL Eastern Division all-star in 2005 and 2006  
* Enjoyed a 14-year CFL career
CLAUDE RIOPELLE (1973-77)   
* Member of three Vanier Cup teams in 1974, 1976 and 1977  
* Two-time all-Canadian in 1976 and 1977 at defensive end
* 7th round draft pick of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in 1976  
* Member of the 1978 Can-Am Bowl team  
JAMIE TARAS (1984-86)  
* Member of Western's Atlantic Bowl championship teams in 1985 and 1986  
* Two-time OUA all-star in 1985 and 1986 at offensive guard
* 3rd round draft pick of the B.C. Lions in 1987  
* Enjoyed a 16-year CFL career  
* Two-time CFL all-star in 1995 and 1999
* Most Outstanding Canadian Player in the CFL West Division in 1999
* Two-time winner of CFL's West Division Most Outstanding Lineman in 1995 and 1999  
* Won the Tom Pate Memorial Award in 1999
* Member of the B.C. Lions All-Dream Team
* Western's equipment manager for years; deep connection with the varsity football team
* Coached by Frank Cosentino, the team compiled a 9-3 record, defeating Alberta 15-14 in the Vanier Cup final  
* Won Yates Cup 13-0 over Ottawa at J.W. Little Stadium  
Tickets for the Wall of Champions Awards Dinner are $150 per person, while a table of 10 is $1,500. Tickets and tables can be ordered by online beginning later this week at  
For additional information, contact Whitney Barrett by phone 519-661-2111 ext. 80412 or by email to Sponsorship opportunities are also available.  
Past Wall of Champions inductees include:  
2009 – Duane Forde, Kevin Ford, George Arnott, Ray Truant, Larry Haylor and the 1959 Western Mustangs.  
2008 – Bill Britton, Rob Campbell, Rick Scarborough, Matt Janes, Jack Fairs and the 1939 Western Mustangs team.  
2007 – Doug McNichol, Pete Martin, George Willis, Jeff Arp, Brent Lewis, Steve Samways, Clarke Samways and the 1957 championship team.  
2006 – Lionel Conacher, Dr. Peter Fowler, Gino Fracas, Michael Kirkley, Craig Labbett, Allen Philbrick, Sean Reade and Frank Turville.  
2005 – Al Hurley, Jack Kennedy, Duncan MacKinley, Bill Mitchell, Jack Parry, David Sapunjis, Darwin Semotiuk, Whit Tucker, Pierre Vercheval and Tyronne Williams.  
2004 – John Priestner, Tim Tindale, Blake Marshall, Bob Gage, Bob McFarlane, Don Getty, Don McFarlane, Frank Cosentino, Greg Marshall, Jamie Bone, Joe Krol and John Metras.

Also from this web page:


8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
(holidays excluded)


Helen Connell (

Jason Winders (

Paul Mayne (

Heather Travis (

Advertising Coordinator:

Denise Jones (

Off-Campus Advertising Sales:
Chris Amyot, Campus Ad (

National Advertising Representative:
Campus Plus



Western News, Suite 360
Westminster Hall
The University of Western Ontario, London N6A 3K7














Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.