Western experts available to speak about First Nations issues

Print

By Communications Staff
Friday, January 25, 2013
Looking for experts to provide comment and context for your stories on First Nations issues? Western University has experts from a wide range of academic disciplines including First Nations Studies, History, Law and Sociology available for interviews. Below is a condensed list.
 
First Nations Studies

Regna Darnell, Professor, Anthropology & First Nations Studies, 519-661-2111 x85087, rdarnell@uwo.ca
EXPERTISE: First Nations, multiculturalism, cross-cultural miscommunication, canadian identity, health and well-being, history of science, social cohesion

Chantelle Richmond, Assistant Professor, Geography, First Nations Studies, Department of Family Medicine, 661-2111 x85324, chantelle.richmond@uwo.ca
EXPERTISE: Current health and social inequalities endured by First Nations and the contributions of environmental change to these realities.

Dan and Mary Lou Smoke, Lecturers, First Nations Studies, Hosts, Smoke Signals on CHRW, 519-661-2111 x85083, dsmoke@uwo.ca
EXPERTISE: First Nations

Also visit Western's First Nations Studies at http://firstnationsstudies.uwo.ca

History

Douglas Leighton, Associate Professor, History, Huron University College at Western, 519-438-7224 x227, jleighto@huron.uwo.ca
EXPERTISE: First Nations relations in Canada

Law

Michael Coyle, Assistant Professor, Faculty Of Law, 519-661-2111 x88453, mcoyle@uwo.ca
EXPERTISE:  Aboriginal rights, Aboriginal land claims, negotiation, mediation

Sociology

Paul C. Whitehead, Professor, Sociology, 519-661-3694, paulcw@uwo.ca
EXPERTISE: First Nations social problems

MEDIA CONTACT: Please feel free to contact our experts directly or contact Stephen Ledgley, Senior Media Relations Officer, at 519-661-2111 x85283, sledgley@uwo.ca.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Media Relations team

Keith Marnoch
Director, Media Relations
519-661-2111 x85468
kmarnoch@uwo.ca

Jeff Renaud
Senior Media Relations Officer
519-661-2111, ext. 85165
jrenaud9@uwo.ca

Susanna Eayrs

Communications Officer
Law
519-661-2126
seayrs@uwo.ca

Kathy Wallis

Media Relations Officer
Medicine & Dentistry Robarts Research Institute
519-661-2111, ext. 81136
kathy.wallis@ schulich.uwo.ca

Douglas Keddy

Research Communications Manager
Research Western
519-661-2111, ext. 87485
dkeddy@uwo.ca

Ivan Langrish
Senior Manager, Media Strategy Richard Ivey School of Business
416-203-0664
ilangrish@ivey.uwo.ca

 

Subscribe to the RSS Feed

RSS Button Media Releases Feed
About this Feed
 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.