Engineers Without Borders is smashing pumpkins to help smash poverty

Print

By Communications Staff
Wednesday, October 31, 2012
Western University's Engineers Without Borders (EWB) student club will host its 8th annual Pumpkin Drop on Thursday, Nov. 1 at 2 p.m. on UC Hill. 
 
The smash hit annual fundraising event includes dropping a 1,400 pound pumpkin from 100 feet in the air by crane to raise money to support programs aimed at poverty reduction overseas and raising awareness in the university and London community.

Smaller pumpkins will also be available for people to smash with a baseball bat, in return for a donation.

The EWB goal this year is to send two student volunteers overseas for a summer work placement and pay for one long-term overseas staff. The volunteers work on projects aimed at improving sustainability in towns and villages.

This year, the pumpkins were donated by Canadale Nurseries of St. Thomas.

For more information about EWB Western, please visit www.uwo.ewb.ca

MEDIA CONTACT: Graeme Clancy, 226-268-5195, gclancy36@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Media Relations team

Keith Marnoch
Director, Media Relations
519-661-2111 x85468
kmarnoch@uwo.ca

Jeff Renaud
Senior Media Relations Officer
519-661-2111, ext. 85165
jrenaud9@uwo.ca

Susanna Eayrs

Communications Officer
Law
519-661-2126
seayrs@uwo.ca

Kathy Wallis

Media Relations Officer
Medicine & Dentistry Robarts Research Institute
519-661-2111, ext. 81136
kathy.wallis@ schulich.uwo.ca

Douglas Keddy

Research Communications Manager
Research Western
519-661-2111, ext. 87485
dkeddy@uwo.ca

Ivan Langrish
Senior Manager, Media Strategy Richard Ivey School of Business
416-203-0664
ilangrish@ivey.uwo.ca

 

Subscribe to the RSS Feed

RSS Button Media Releases Feed
About this Feed
 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.