Polar Stick competition builds bridges - literally and figuratively

Print

By Communications Staff
Thursday, November 29, 2012
Western University hosts its annual Polar Stick Bridge Competition tomorrow (Friday, November 30) in the Spencer Engineering Building, Room 1200. The building competition begins at 2:45 p.m. 
 
Hosted annually by Western's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, this year's competition features students from Western and London area high schools building bridges with only the materials provided to each team at the time of registration: One (1) kg of Polar Sticks, one (1) bottle of glue and one (1) spool of floss.

Each entry is tested with weights (to the point of structural failure) to determine which design is most sound. The entries are also judged on aesthetic appeal.

There will be 48 total teams this year, including students from Western, A.B. Lucas, London Central, H.B. Beal, Saunders and Sir Wilfrid Laurier.

Photos from 2011 can be found here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/westerneng/sets/72157628195995167/

For more information, please contact Stephanie Laurence, Undergraduate and International Development Coordinator, Civil and Environmental Engineering, 519-661-2139, stephanie.laurence@uwo.ca

MEDIA CONTACT: Jeff Renaud, Senior Media Relations Officer, 519-661-2111, ext. 85165, @westernu_jr 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Media Relations team

Keith Marnoch
Director, Media Relations
519-661-2111 x85468
kmarnoch@uwo.ca

Jeff Renaud
Senior Media Relations Officer
519-661-2111, ext. 85165
jrenaud9@uwo.ca

Susanna Eayrs

Communications Officer
Law
519-661-2126
seayrs@uwo.ca

Kathy Wallis

Media Relations Officer
Medicine & Dentistry Robarts Research Institute
519-661-2111, ext. 81136
kathy.wallis@ schulich.uwo.ca

Douglas Keddy

Research Communications Manager
Research Western
519-661-2111, ext. 87485
dkeddy@uwo.ca

Ivan Langrish
Senior Manager, Media Strategy Richard Ivey School of Business
416-203-0664
ilangrish@ivey.uwo.ca

 

Subscribe to the RSS Feed

RSS Button Media Releases Feed
About this Feed
 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.